Welfare review signals change

Review undertaken by Patrick McClure has found welfare system needs restructured.

Welfare review signals change

Australia’s $150 billion welfare system is ripe for restructure a review, undertaken by former head of Mission Australia Patrick McClure, has found. And it looks as though the Disability Support Pension could be the most affected.

Commissioned by the Coalition Government in December 2013, the report was released to the government on 29 June 2014. The review’s brief was to save the nation money and get more people back to work, but no one was to receive less money than they currently do. In total 20 income support payments and 55 supplementary payments were included in the review.

The main recommendation of the report is that the income support payment structure be simplified to five payments:

  • a tiered working age payment,
  • a supported living pension,
  • a child and youth payment,
  • a carer payment and
  • an Age Pension.

The Disability Support Pension would be replaced by a supported living pension, and to qualify a claimant would have to be assessed as being able to work less than eight hours per week and have the same work capacity for the next five years. The recommendation being that a person should be assessed on how long they would have a limited capacity to work, rather than the permanence of their impairment.

Those who have the capacity to work longer would be placed on a tiered working age payment, with the amount they receive based on their actual capacity to work.

The carer payment would continue as a means-tested payment available to those providing constant care for someone with a physical, intellectual or psychiatric disability or older people in need of care.

The Age Pension was out with the scope of the review.

Read more at ABC.net.au

Is it time for a restructure of the welfare system? Do you believe that no one will receive less than they do now? Will a review of the Age Pension be next?





    COMMENTS

    To make a comment, please register or login
    mrswong
    25th Feb 2015
    11:55am
    We have become a welfare nation speak to any immigrant and they find it hard to believe what is handed out here. A restructure is needed and so long as no one is penalised greatly by it then it has to be considered
    MICK
    25th Feb 2015
    1:44pm
    Yes. And something has needed to be done for a long long time. Welcome to Australia.
    particolor
    25th Feb 2015
    4:05pm
    $ 150,000,000 ? :-(
    Halve it !! Send them all "HOME" :-)
    They cant Behave themselves !! :-(
    We DONT want their Draconian Laws ! :-( We have our own ! Thank You Very Much :-)
    particolor
    25th Feb 2015
    4:06pm
    Add 3 more Naughts to that Thanks !!
    Anonymous
    26th Feb 2015
    10:43am
    I understand no reduction in current payments for recipients but those who can work will be "encouraged" to do so.
    Anonymous
    26th Feb 2015
    5:07pm
    mrswong

    Oh! dear….. yes, Australia is EGALITARIAN and most other nations are either AUTHORITARIAN or CORPORATOCRACIES or DICTATORSHIPS, and THAT is WHY we spend TAXPAYERS MONEY on AUSTRALIANS and NOT on the WEALTHY.

    The abject PROPAGANDA that is spread continuously, convincing the average TAXPAYER, who by the way pays MOST of the money into government coffers, that the money they contribute in taxes should NOT be spent on benefits for improving the lives of the disadvantaged and our elderly. We are continually told that govts can't afford to pay for infrastructure and services that would benefit the AVERAGE taxpayer BUT that we should give billions out to CORPORATIONS to rip and burn our environment and take BILLIONS out of our country and NOT PAY any taxes.

    No, mrswong…. you are wrong…. Australia has it right and those from other countries are accustomed to corruption and propaganda that makes them accept THEIR money being spent on the wealthy and not those that ACTUALLY PAY THE DAMN TAXES!
    Jen
    27th Feb 2015
    8:42am
    Well said Mussitate.
    particolor
    3rd Mar 2015
    10:41pm
    Poor Ben Efits is getting cut in half up the top there ?? :-(
    Abby
    5th Mar 2015
    6:39am
    Interesting thought Nico
    Grandpa41
    25th Feb 2015
    12:08pm
    It is not only immigrants alone as every Australian thinks that as they have paid taxes in their life they are entitkled for benefits. People forget that taxes are used to run the country like health, defence, roads etc. etc.
    MICK
    25th Feb 2015
    1:45pm
    People want freebies. You are spot on with your post though.
    Misty
    25th Feb 2015
    2:04pm
    Yes Grandpa41 it is just that those who can lease afford it always come out on the wrong end when welfare changes are flagged, we need a BIG CRACKDOWN on TAX EVASION by those who can well afford to pay the right amount of tax.
    mangomick
    25th Feb 2015
    3:08pm
    Easy to forget that since 1945 an additional supplement was added to our taxation bill every year specifically to pay for Social Services .It was never removed just rolled into General taxation revenue.So yes,those who need benefits are surely entitled to them.
    particolor
    25th Feb 2015
    4:09pm
    Yes !! Forgotten is the 7% Especially for OLD AGE PENSIONS !! Should be a Few Bob in there Now ?? :-)
    Pass the Ductape
    25th Feb 2015
    5:40pm
    Shhhh particolor - what are you trying to do? They're hoping people will forget that one!
    moke
    25th Feb 2015
    7:27pm
    We should all know where the 7% went look at the lurks and perks of Pollies Old and New they never talk about themselves getting a bit less or having to wait for their super just like the everyday person 'What's good for the Goose is definitely not good for the Gander' as far as they are concerned. I thought were all much the same in the Buff so what makes Pollies think they are different
    particolor
    25th Feb 2015
    7:39pm
    We are NUDERER !! :-)
    Luchar
    25th Feb 2015
    8:04pm
    Typical, Misty.

    Here we are with an annual welfare bill of $150 Billion, costing $3 Billion to administer, regular reports of the rorting of the system costing taxpayers millions, and finally a review suggesting ways of streamlining an unwieldy system and getting rid of the rorters. So what is Misty's response??? "Those who can least afford it always come out on the wrong end . . ."

    Actually, Misty, if you had listened to the interviews regarding the suggested changes, you would realise that if you are genuinely one of the country's most vulnerable and most needy, then you have absolutely nothing to worry about. Of course if, on the other hand, you naively swallow every negative statement Shorten makes, then that remains your major problem.
    particolor
    25th Feb 2015
    8:15pm
    Shorten came Close to getting Chucked out of Parliament today I think ? I didn't quiet get what He was Screaming about ? But It ended with "Would the Leader of the Opposition Please resume His Seat !! :-(
    Anonymous
    26th Feb 2015
    5:21pm
    Luchar

    Misty is correct …. look further than what you are TOLD and maybe tone it down a little and show Misty a bit of respect, she/he merely had a different opinion and didn't deserve your rampage.

    EXAMPLE: Let's look to Queensland - Newman was going to GIVE, yes, GIVE a huge (foreign) mining corporation hundreds of millions as a FREEBY. When Newman got tossed out and the proposed FREEBY stopped, the huge (foreign) mining corporation said it would proceed anyway. Tell me, what was those hundred of millions in FREEBY money being paid for?????? Simply transferring PUBLIC (taxpayers money) to PRIVATE pockets for the benefit of the WEALTHY who supported Newman politically.

    That is only ONE example of how millions of OUR money is going to the WEALTHY and then they tell the average Australian that we can't afford to look after our OWN, nor provide benefits and services and infrastructure to Australia.

    This is AFTER forking out BILLIONS in PUBLIC money to PRIVATE institutions so that the WEALTHY can provide THEIR kids with better education and themselves with better health. ALL PAID FOR BY THE AVERAGE TAXPAYER who CAN'T AFFORD TO SEND THEIR KIDS TO THOSE SAME SCHOOLS or ACCESS THE SAME HEALTH CARE.

    So, tell me again about the needs of the WEALTHY and how this RICH NATION can't afford to pay for its OWN!!!!
    pete@nakedhydroponics
    25th Feb 2015
    12:30pm
    Putting 9% of your income away for retirement is a very sensible idea.
    Being forced to give 9% of your income to a bunch of suits so they can play silly buggers with other people's money -and walk away with ridiculous bonuses, win or lose- is just crazy.
    The budget deficit could be fixed very easily by converting the 9% mandatory super contribution into a 9% tax levy. The gov. can -unlike fund managers- guarantee a fixed return (say 5%) on the contribution, so you know the money will be there when one is ready to retire, unlike now when a market downturn could wipe you out.
    Set a maximum age, say 80 years, and a minimum support amount, say the current pension rate. Whenever a body has enough in their account to retire at the minimum amount they should be free to do so, regardless of age. Or they can keep working as long as they like.
    With no bulk payouts, the money left in the account should continue to accrue interest, so even if one lives to be 100 they have still covered themselves.
    You could give the scheme a sexy name instead of Super. Maybe, a pension?
    MICK
    25th Feb 2015
    1:50pm
    A few holes here. How can any government "guarantee" a return of any substantial amount? What happens in times like we are in when interest rates are heading towards zero?
    Also, be aware that this government, and probably the other side of politics as well, are eying up superannuation and want to take it out of private sector hands and manage it themselves. I smell a very big rate here and it looks more like governments are in time going to amalgamate private superannuation with public pensions whilst all the way along taking bits for the next big idea they want to fund. Worry!!
    Misty
    25th Feb 2015
    2:12pm
    Pete best suggestion yet maybe you should send your ideas off to Scott Morrison, I have just listened to his speech and he would like women to work until 69. mothers to get back into the work force etc, WHERE ARE ALL THESE JOBS COMING FROM?. Mr Morrison also said so many young are unemployed and can't find jobs now, well when the people on the DS Pension go back to work along with the mums and 60+ AGED WOMEN where will they find a job?.
    mangomick
    25th Feb 2015
    3:15pm
    Yes Scott Morrison . Reduce the retirement age. Get all the oldies out of the workforce and fill their jobs with the young. The young spend money so it will stimulate the economy. The oldies already have all the whitegoods and furniture they are ever going to need.Allow the oldies to hit the road with their caravans stimulating the economies of Regional Australia as they cross "round Australia " off their bucket list.
    KSS
    25th Feb 2015
    6:46pm
    Pete@nakedhydroponics, 9% is not and will not be enough. We know that now.
    Luchar
    25th Feb 2015
    8:08pm
    Great idea, mangomick.

    Reduce the retirement age. Oh, wait a moment. Hadn't Greece already thought of that idea?
    particolor
    25th Feb 2015
    8:20pm
    Yes !! and it Attracted 800,000 Old Immigrants !! :-) :-) from ME !!
    mangomick
    25th Feb 2015
    9:13pm
    Luchar are you sure your not Scott Morrisons love child. You would have to be some sort of a relation given your comments to Misty. How many young unemployed are there out there. A whole generation who have and probably will never have work all wanting to buy a house furnish it and have kids who would love a job and would spend all the money. And the best your mob can come up with is making oldies stay working until they are 70 ensuring that a whole generation of our youth will never have a job. Big difference between Greece and Australia. Our superannuation pool is now about $1.7 trillion, a bit bigger than our GDP .I would imagine our oldies are a bit more cashed up than Greece. And by having early retirement the welfare bill shouldn't change. The government is either paying out the dole or a pension and assuming the jobs the oldies leave are filled by younger workers there shouldn't be a change in social welfare pay outs.In Greece they just don't have the jobs for either group. Your "look at Greece" arguement is baseless , there is no comparison.
    bookwyrm
    26th Feb 2015
    2:29am
    Germany, hardly a hotbed of socialism, reduced their retirement age to 63. Oldies here will die on the job.
    worker
    25th Feb 2015
    1:10pm
    As voters and employers of MPs lets review all there wagers, and so called life long pensions etc ,I suggest quite large savings can be made at state and federal levels.

    Question what is the real cost of state and federal MPs
    MICK
    25th Feb 2015
    1:51pm
    Are they gambling too? Chuckle.....
    particolor
    25th Feb 2015
    4:12pm
    How far can You Stretch a Truck Tyre ?? :-)
    dougie
    25th Feb 2015
    1:20pm
    I think that the time has come to listen and enter into discussions within the community on this whole matter. The changes that will be made will not be effective tomorrow but will be a long term plan for the future funding of our nation.
    Hysterical name calling and denial will not help. We all need to be mature and to take a part in this community discussion, do not leave it all to the politicians or unions but make it a community discussion.
    MICK
    25th Feb 2015
    1:54pm
    Sounds like you are throwing in lots with politicians dougie.
    Be careful about the "future funding" you are talking about. Consider the sort of large scale waste which is routine and the attitude of pollies who fix that with higher taxes. How high matters not because citizens cannot refuse to pay.
    dougie
    25th Feb 2015
    2:49pm
    Mick,
    Not throwing my lot with politicians, just asking that we as the people of this great country learn how to have a constructive discussion of the future of our country and the future of our children and those to come after us and them. As I said if you leave it to the politicians and unions you will get what they want, form local groups = call public meetings - discuss the matter coherently and tell the government and unions what we want. Seems sensible and non political to me.
    mangomick
    25th Feb 2015
    3:32pm
    Thought Saul Eslake made a few valid points about having closer scrutiny of family trusts and abolishing negative gearing on investment houses. The only problem though ,is how can you justify eliminating negative gearing on investment houses but allowing it for say someone who makes an income from employment but can also claim his interest on a farm he's buying against his employment income. Seems a double standard.
    Davymac
    25th Feb 2015
    6:55pm
    Dougie, with plenty of experience in local government, community discussion will only bring out the "I wants" and rarely valuable input and even rarer agreement.
    dougie
    25th Feb 2015
    7:15pm
    So DAvymack, what do we do lay back and think of England. We at least should become involved. I too have had some experience in life and I have found the need for a voice of reason. I for one will not be silenced by the hysterical. There are many ways to make your known.i
    Jen
    25th Feb 2015
    2:27pm
    The head of Mission Australia has no right saying anything about our welfare system. Mission Australia's job agency arm, is one of several (including the Salvation Army and various private enterprise businesses, some based in the US) ripping off Australian taxpayers for billions including photocopying the signatures of the unemployed, cutting them out, gluing them onto forms, rephotocopying and throwing out the original with the glued on signature, to claim fees. Watch the last episode of Four Corners to see the extent of it.
    particolor
    25th Feb 2015
    4:20pm
    I heard them Jumping Up and Down on the Radio about that !! And I wasn't One Little Bit Surprised !! :-0 OW !! New Start needed .... Any spare room in the Jails ??
    dougie
    26th Feb 2015
    8:36am
    Look at the funds being passed to these so called NFP agencies and see how much is paid to their coffers. Which was the Agency that set up a second business to refer clients to. At this business they did 30 plus days of car counting type activity etc so that they could be shown as working for 30 days. There is much spoken word of one Agency which was paid a massive sum by the Government and then the second organisation dismissed them. Cost 5 weeks wages from the massive payment made to the agency. How many times did this occur and with how many agencies if it is in fact true.
    dougie
    26th Feb 2015
    8:36am
    Look at the funds being passed to these so called NFP agencies and see how much is paid to their coffers. Which was the Agency that set up a second business to refer clients to. At this business they did 30 plus days of car counting type activity etc so that they could be shown as working for 30 days. There is much spoken word of one Agency which was paid a massive sum by the Government and then the second organisation dismissed them. Cost 5 weeks wages from the massive payment made to the agency. How many times did this occur and with how many agencies if it is in fact true.
    dougie
    26th Feb 2015
    8:36am
    Look at the funds being passed to these so called NFP agencies and see how much is paid to their coffers. Which was the Agency that set up a second business to refer clients to. At this business they did 30 plus days of car counting type activity etc so that they could be shown as working for 30 days. There is much spoken word of one Agency which was paid a massive sum by the Government and then the second organisation dismissed them. Cost 5 weeks wages from the massive payment made to the agency. How many times did this occur and with how many agencies if it is in fact true.
    Grateful
    25th Feb 2015
    3:43pm
    "Will a review of the age pension be NEXT"??? It should be FIRST!!! More people who are genuinely not "in need" are ripping off the age pension than the disabled.
    The rest is just housekeeping and probably just an academic exercise anyway because there are no jobs to "get people back to"!!. Let's see the fine print!!!!!
    bookwyrm
    25th Feb 2015
    3:49pm
    It‘s just punishing the disabled, sick and poor. They did the same thing in the UK under the Tories and it has been an utter disaster. To meet government targets disabled were told they could work and taken off their pension and there have been a lot of deaths and suicides, homelessness, no money for groceries etc
    particolor
    26th Feb 2015
    9:36am
    Try the Imported Fish now !Its cheaper ! The Berry's are Shot !! :-(
    particolor
    25th Feb 2015
    4:29pm
    Anyhow ! I don't know what anyone is Complaining about ?
    I can live quiet Comfortably for a Week on My Fortnightly Pension ! :-)
    Davymac
    25th Feb 2015
    6:50pm
    We do not smoke drink or play the pokies, we live well enough including running a car.
    particolor
    25th Feb 2015
    7:53pm
    I don't do 3 out of Three of those things Except when the wind is Blowing the right way and I get High on the Fumes from the Balcony Above !! :-)
    Luchar
    25th Feb 2015
    8:37pm
    Particolor,if you, genuinely, can only live "comfortably for a week on my fortnightly pension" then you are not budgeting very well. Like Davymac, my mother-in-law's sole income is her pension. She dresses well, she eats well, she leads an active social life through the Bowling Club, Probus and her Church. She lunches out with friends 2 or 3 days per week (usually $10 club meals). She pays for a carer 4 hours per week and pays for someone to mow her lawns. She owns her house, and I accept that her costs here would be less than anyone having to pay rent. Seeing this elderly woman manage so comfortably causes me to doubt the sincerity and the competence of the "poor me - the world owes me a living" whingers who inhabit this forum.
    particolor
    25th Feb 2015
    8:44pm
    I knew that post would attract someone sooner or later !! I do Ok !! :-)
    Just testing the Water !! I like to attract Abject Poverty Stories !! :-)..
    Cheers !!
    mangomick
    25th Feb 2015
    9:22pm
    particolor ..don't you wish the fish would bite as good. Got to wonder what the world is coming to though , when your own son-in-law won't come round and mow an old ladies lawn.
    particolor
    25th Feb 2015
    9:38pm
    Hide Tins of Beer in it Like the Easter Bunny !! :-) Short Back and Sides in No Time !! :-0 !!
    Luchar
    25th Feb 2015
    9:44pm
    Actually, mangomick, once mother-in-law's husband (now late husband) became incapable of the tasks,"your own son-in-law" used to do all of their shopping for 12 years and looked after their large lawn area and gardens for nine years, (as well as his own equally large lawn and garden area). When daughter was suddenly left with four school-age children to raise on her own, "your son-in-law" found that, now in his mid-seventies, his help could only be stretched so far, so arrangements were made to relieve "your son-in-law" of some of his support for mother-in-law.
    mangomick
    25th Feb 2015
    11:08pm
    I've always said that senior citizens bite better than barra.That's good to hear though Luchar. You'll get your reward when you get to heaven.
    bookwyrm
    26th Feb 2015
    2:34am
    As long as you own your own home, you‘re fine. But renting and living on the pension is a whole different horrible story.
    Abby
    27th Feb 2015
    9:27pm
    Bookwyrm
    Don't the Disabilities Pensioners get a rental subsidy ?
    Pass the Ductape
    25th Feb 2015
    5:35pm
    Hah! Welfare restructure they call it! Simply a recipe for sticking it to pensioners and have us laughing while they do it.
    Anonymous
    27th Feb 2015
    4:01am
    Agree, wholeheartedly ….

    I must apologise, however, because I refer to Morrison as a crocodilian and I notice that you have his picture as your avatar…. the resemblance is undeniable. Dangerous piece of work that one, especially when considering his limited brain capacity.
    Abby
    27th Feb 2015
    9:29pm
    Ductape
    You should change your avatar to Morisson Lol
    KSS
    25th Feb 2015
    6:45pm
    Given the cost of just administering the current welfare system runs at $3b, that's billion a year, then something must be done. When 8 out of every 10 taxpayers are working solely to support the welfare system, it is totally out of hand. 20 different payments and 55 different supplements is ridiculous. No wonder it costs so much to administer and that mistakes are made.

    Get on with reforming the system and make sure only those in genuine need (not genuine want) get what they need.
    particolor
    25th Feb 2015
    8:10pm
    Well that's just asking to have some OFFENDED !! :-(
    Anonymous
    26th Feb 2015
    10:46am
    According to the report outlined by Morrison at the Press Club this week in ten years time the welfare bill will be $150 billion ...we will be stuffed if that happens. That is why something has to be done to reign it in.
    No money, no welfare.
    particolor
    27th Feb 2015
    8:18am
    Serfs Up !! :-)
    Davymac
    25th Feb 2015
    6:48pm
    Yes bring it on, But tune out the liars and bleeding hearts.
    particolor
    25th Feb 2015
    7:57pm
    I can hear them Warming up the Orchestra Now :-) Beatliberal's 5th I think ? :-)
    Davymac
    25th Feb 2015
    7:02pm
    Superannuation is no good with cash payouts, rolled over and/or invested including the ability to still get the pension. Super must pay a pension, cash payouts must be expended before eligibility for a pension. Getting a full pension with $200,000 in the bank is not on.
    particolor
    25th Feb 2015
    8:04pm
    I only had $3,800 in My Compulsory Super when I retired ? So I pulled it out and bought a Car ! Just In Time ! :-) The Super Fund Rolled Down the Hill and Crashed a Month later !! :-(
    I still drive that Car :-)
    Thanks !!
    older&wiser
    28th Feb 2015
    10:21am
    Davy, don't know where you got $200k figure from. My brother is on aged pension, has $156k in bank and already has his pension reduced. Single people are the ones who loose out the most.
    Dot
    25th Feb 2015
    9:38pm
    How much has our welfare exploded since the massive influx of legal and illegal migrants who arrived here in the past 20years.
    Back in 1950 arriving here after world war two we received nothing, worked and contributed to the Australian economy. After only four years on the pension I was called in for a review, I take it the past 61 years count for nothing yet I'm continually tripping over all those from third world countries going to the ATM machines and withdrawing our hard taxes, but then again we are the white Christian European trash which counts for nothing.
    particolor
    25th Feb 2015
    10:06pm
    Yes You cant help but notice that can You !! :-(
    I can remember as a Boy in Sydney The Immigrants worked Hard and were Happy to be in A Free Country, The Boys from the Snowy Scheme would, come up and Spend up and No trouble and then back to work !! :-) But now I have to Brush Whiskers off the ATM Pad before I can use it !!?? :-( I wonder what work they did ??
    Grateful
    26th Feb 2015
    9:16am
    How much has our welfare exploded since the massive influx of NEW "hand outs" such as childcare subsidies that just increased the cost of childcare, paying a first home buyer's subsidy that only put up the price of housing, paying pensions and giving Health Benefit Cards to millionaires,massive taxation subsidies to superannuation absolutely incredible!!!!), massive taxation subsidies to millionaires with multiple negative gearing of domestic houses, massive loss of taxation income from "family trusts", massive loss of taxation income from multi-national companies that pay NO tax in Australia???? Where do you stop and as usual on this forum the racist card comes out!!!! PATHETIC!!!! People in glass houses should not throw stones.
    particolor
    26th Feb 2015
    9:42am
    Its not a Race !
    Anonymous
    26th Feb 2015
    10:50am
    The majority of migrants who have come in recently via the people smugglers do not work and are on welfare (or have some "other"?? source of income which helps supplement their welfare payment).
    I would hazzard a guess that most will never work at all and will be on welfare for life.
    Grateful
    26th Feb 2015
    1:21pm
    Not denying any of those comments, but, let's not turn this into a racist, bigoted response to what should be the most important issue confronting this country and its children for generations to come.
    The current WELFARE SYSTEM is a farce and totally out of balance with what "welfare" was intended for.
    "Rich" people who blatantly take any form of "welfare" are equally as guilty of ripping off taxpayers as any so called "dole bludger" or "disabled" malingerer.
    VERY open minds are essential to resolve this horrible, yet, extremely solvable, problem. Absolutely no room for bigotry, racism or political ideology. Sadly, none of the currrent government will have the guts to do it PROPERLY!!!! (Votes, my dears, is what it's all about).
    Dot
    26th Feb 2015
    3:28pm
    The majority of Aussies who turn every ones comments into a racist thing let me warn you there will come a day when you won't have the right to comment on any issue. I'm just an ordinary wife, mother and grandmother and have observed for many years where this country is heading, the massive influx of foreigners arriving here brought with them their criminal activities which include rorting the welfare system, not obeying Australian laws. The will come the day when all those fools who continually support these immigrants will be sorry.
    particolor
    26th Feb 2015
    7:11pm
    Your Not Kidding !! :-(
    Anonymous
    27th Feb 2015
    4:12am
    Dot

    YOU are an IMMIGRANT!!!!! I am 5th generation but still an immigrant. YOU seem to forget that the Italians, Greeks, Asians, etc that have come to Australia have contributed greatly.

    Standing alongside the earlier immigrants (Irish and English) and doing the HARD STUFF to make Australia great.

    What is it about these current immigrants that you don't like…. the colour of their skin or their religion or are you simply re-spewing megacorp media PROPAGANDA.

    Here is an article by JOHN PILGER…. read that and look real terrorists in the face:

    JUST COPY AND PASTE TO YOUR BROWSER: http://www.opednews.com/articles/Why-the-rise-of-fascism-is-by-John-Pilger-America_Fascism_Genocide_Holocaust-150226-704.html

    This article is FACTUAL….. maybe you should look very hard at what THE megacorp MEDIA are spewing forth, day in and day out!… Yes, because it omits the murder, torture and devastation inflicted on other whole nations and millions upon millions of people…. for pure gain of a small but despicable minority.
    Jen
    27th Feb 2015
    9:06am
    For those who take the time to read that link, it's a dose of cold, hard reality.
    Jacks
    1st Mar 2015
    4:41pm
    Dot,

    you need to watch Four Corners for last weeks story on really who is rorting the welfare system. Hint, it's not the unemployed. Job Network Providers are privatizes agencies that are given government funding to help job seekers become job ready, train and find work. Funny that cause the investigation found that the Networks are cheating the system so that they make sure the funding goes to the agencies and none of it goes to helping the unemployed.
    Jen
    2nd Mar 2015
    8:31pm
    Watch and weep. It continues, unchallenged. http://iview.abc.net.au/programs/four-corners/NC1504H004S00
    maggiemay
    26th Feb 2015
    9:55pm
    I like Misty's comments. From what I've observed, the ideals of the Politicians in real life, seem "amazingly" to hurt those who do really need help and benefit those who are relatively better off. I think the people who do the work of crunching numbers, do assessments based on information alone without considering the actual recipients situation by interview, biases, pressure behind the scenes from politicians down the line resulting in changes to what may have been a really good decision, politicians who are out of touch with the hard realities of aging Australians (ie: who through unfortunate circumstances don't own a home, trouble getting work due to age, not ability, a wife with mental and physical illness who can't work....OUR situation). The tax system is inequitable, benefitting the wealthy, and politicians who will never want for nothing for the rest of their lives yet stand there making decisions and making at times cruel statements that 'hurt the truly hurting', striking fear into the lives of us who are powerless over the end result. I can't see any true justice this side of eternity. The poor get poorer and are unjustly blamed and the rich have ways and means to escape the harsh realities of the genuine needy. As long as there is power, greed and human beings, there cannot be true justice. Only occasionally do we see this.
    particolor
    26th Feb 2015
    10:03pm
    When ?
    Not Senile Yet!
    27th Feb 2015
    2:09pm
    Yep They want to change it....to streamline it!!!
    But the truth is that the very people who created it are not capable of fixing it without stuffing it up all over again!!!
    The truth is nobody TRUSTS this or any Government to NOT fix it to suit themselves rather than the ones who need the assistance!!!
    The truth is that every MP has sold out to the Party Machine that they belong to.....thus they have to follow Party Policy....be it left or Right Wing.....rather than what is best for the People in the long term.
    Again....just like Super Reforms & Pension Age reforms....they will just do a quick Fix.....quick as in short term.....Fix as in take away to balance a budget that they cannot balance!!!!
    What is needed is a Government Free Body to oversee any recommendations BEFORE anything is implemented.
    S TO THE CONTINUAL Lies about not being able to afford these payments......where has everyone been???...hiding under a rock???
    The Government has nearly 4 times the Tax revenue it had 30 yrs ago with 4 times less expenditure....because of PRIVATISATION....Just what are these Clowns saying when they cry poor????
    The incompetent System was created by them...the increased tax revenue was created by everyone who had kids that now work.
    Reducing the Welfare Spend is not possible as our Population grows.....it will always grow with it.....they are conning the lot of you!!!
    The way to Fine tune it is to set it up so LESS people are required to run it!!!!.....that's where the real cost has exploded.....not in the payments....but in the Administration of an OUT-OF-DATE-SYSTEM that THEY created!!!
    Willing to bet that the first to go will be those over 55 will all the knowledge and experience as well!!!
    Having worked for the Government.....I know how they always employ YES people.....not the one's who question anything!!!
    What we end up with will be just as bad as what they have already given us......because it is the same people that created the monolith that would be in charge of Streamlining It!!!
    Sorry...but history does repeat!!!
    older&wiser
    28th Feb 2015
    7:38am
    One important factor - trying to get people off welfare into jobs. CAN SOMEONE TELL ME WHERE THESE JOBS ARE? Just as they want older workers to work longer, or get younger people off welfare and into jobs - WHERE ARE THE JOBS? I am 62, have recently finished a work contract, and cannot even get an interview. I've tried Woolies, Coles, take aways, cleaning, I have a folder of over 162 applications - but no job. All the experience, ability, am very fit and active, and because I have a little bit of savings put aside to cover my mortgage, I cannot get Newstart. I have had to resort to selling goods off, just to survive. When are they going to get it through their heads that employers are part of the problem. They will NOT hire older workers. I have been asked the most ridiculous questions: about when I will retire, if I own my house, do I care for grand kids, why do I want to work, etc. I cannot crack it for a job, either temp, part-time or f/time. Stupid thing now is that I am getting to the stage of giving up - I know I shouldn't, but that is easier said than done. What on earth is the use of sending off all these applications when you know that as soon as they see your DOB you are out of the running? There has been a job advertised near where I live that I could run rings around. I applied, twice, did not even get an interview, and the ad is still running, 4 weeks later. I made a call to find out why I was unsuccessful, but they said I lacked suitable experience. How they could say that, I don't know!! I really could practically do it in my sleep - or is that what they are afraid of? - hiring someone that is better than them?
    And employers are sneeky now - they know they can't ask your DOB so many online applications ask you to send in a copy of a National Police Check, or Birth Certificate.
    On the other hand, a neighbour up the road has a young girl who left school last year and still cannot crack it for a job. Presentable, speaks well, not a wild child, and all she can get is 6 hours a week at a local shop. I have done up her resume, she cold calls, and gets no-where, mostly because she 'has no experience'.
    So tell me - WHERE ARE THE JOBS? Allot of the time it is not the applicant's fault - it is the employers narrow minded view.
    Nan Norma
    3rd Mar 2015
    9:23pm
    Years ago the jobs were there. That was before they started pushing married women with children into the workforce. Then they put up the pension age, so people are staying longer in the work place. And of course, so many jobs have gone offshore. Automation has also taken other many jobs too. So is it any wonder there not the jobs to go around.
    Jen
    28th Feb 2015
    10:49am
    Here is a "senior citizen" who knows her stuff. I read her several times a week on Australian Independent Media:

    http://theaimn.com/now-for-something-completely-different/
    Jacks
    1st Mar 2015
    1:58pm
    These measures will do nothing to save any money for the budget. There are simply not enough jobs going and too many unemployed.

    The biggest welfare fraud is the Job Network System. A privatised network of agencies who the unemployed must sign up with to help get support and find work. The funding given by the government goes not the unemployed but to the agency to keep it going.

    Investigation exposes fraud within taxpayer funded Jobs Services Australia

    AN INVESTIGATION has uncovered a massive taxpayer rip-off perpetrated not by “dole bludgers” sponging off the unemployment system — but instead by the agencies tasked with finding people jobs.

    You can read more here: http://www.news.com.au/finance/work/investigation-exposes-fraud-within-taxpayer-funded-jobs-services-australia/story-fnkgbb3b-1227237512956
    particolor
    1st Mar 2015
    2:23pm
    And that's only the Tip of a Bloody Big Ice Burg !!
    Jacks
    1st Mar 2015
    2:58pm
    Yep Particolor that's right. Four Corners was only about to show information that would fit into a 1hr format. The Private training sector (VET) is also privatized and takes money away from TAFE and community programs that help prevent long term unemployment. abc7:30 was able to show the rorting and fraud and bullying techniques used to get unemployed signed up to dodgy courses. The CEO of the VET sector has stood down. There is more to read on this here. VET adviser Patrick McKendry steps aside after allegations http://www.smh.com.au/federal-politics/political-news/vet-adviser-patrick-mckendry-steps-aside-after-allegations-20150227-13r1m6.html … via @smh

    The punishment of the unemployed, the stereotypes and shameful treatment by governments is a disgrace.
    Jen
    1st Mar 2015
    8:55pm
    Dead right Jacks, this has been going on for years, through successive Governments. Why on earth they can't see the absolute rip off of taxpayer funds, I'll never know. I watched that Four Corners programme and waited for the outcry. Nothing happened (that I know of.) So people are fine with it???
    Jacks
    2nd Mar 2015
    11:03am
    Jen, my sentiments exactly. I thought this surely would see major discussion on main stream media tv but there was nothing. The ABC of course did a piece just before the show aired. Bill Mitchell the economics professor on the show wrote an opinion piece in The Guarding, but in no way were there news cycles like what happened with the Greyhound Racing. The unemployed are expendable, and no body cares if they are being exploited or not. It's far to easy say they are all dole bludgers. It makes the voting public feel safe that things like that will never happen to them and vindicated for calling them bludgers, especially those who are working in hard labour or dead end jobs for very little money. They have to take their anger out on someone.
    Jen
    2nd Mar 2015
    7:46pm
    Seems that way. That particular Four Corners programme was no less disgraceful than the Greyhound Racing one. I guess it's easy to denigrate the unemployed as dole bludgers for not finding non existent jobs. The situation continues (imagine the billions wasted over the years) with barely a raised eyebrow. I really don't get it. They want to fix the budget - there's a big chunk of it right there.
    Nan Norma
    3rd Mar 2015
    4:13pm
    The disability pension needs to be seriously investigated. There are people on the DP with only a mild disability, and they also have a paid carer, which is rediculous. If a person, who could otherwise work, but can't because of caring, they do need a carer's pension. The carer's allowence should be looked at also. I see too many couples with one parter recieving a carer's allowence. Surely they shouldn't be paid be care for a loved one. .
    Of course the Pollies payments are a huge drain on the country. The shedding should start with them.
    particolor
    3rd Mar 2015
    6:06pm
    And that will happen when they Grow Sugar Cane in Antarctica !! :-)
    Nan Norma
    3rd Mar 2015
    6:10pm
    particolor. You seem to have a answer for everything, so you tell me.
    particolor
    3rd Mar 2015
    6:39pm
    I was talking of Polly Sheddings !!..
    When I couldn't walk Years back with a Crook Hip Nobody paid My Missus to do it for Me ?? Unheard of !! Eventually I ended up with a Disability Pension for a couple of Years before Retiring after working since I was 15 and Paying Tax all along !! The Commonwealth Doctor who examined Me said : "I don't know how You worked with that Hip all those Years ?? You should have been on a Pension all Your Life !!"
    " I said: "Now You tell Me !!!" :-)
    "
    Nan Norma
    3rd Mar 2015
    7:43pm
    particolor. i know what you mean. My husband on DP after an accident. I never dreamed of asking for a carer's allowence. As his wife I thought you care for your husband, that's it. Now I see couples that claim yet they do the same thing every other couple normally does.
    particolor
    3rd Mar 2015
    8:50pm
    I see them too Nan !! But its Un Australian to Dob the Thieves in !! :-(
    Anonymous
    4th Mar 2015
    7:20am
    I think the suggestion that people should care for loved ones without payment is a rather impractical one. Of course, from an emotional viewpoint, we'd all like to think that people would care for those they love without payment. But how does a struggling family survive if an income-earner has to give up their income to nurse a disabled partner whose only income is a SINGLE disability pension? Many simply can't! I can think of one case where a lady cared for a disabled husband for 20 years. They had two children to raise when the husband contracted a crippling disease that killed him very slowly. They had a mortgage and a car loan. How were they meant to live on a SINGLE disability pension? My son's wife fell victim to cancer. They had 4 children under 8. He was lucky. She was wealthy. But I know of another man in similar circumstances who lost everything - including custody of his children temporarily - because he couldn't cope with having to live on her disability and his carer's pension after having, up until she got sick, enjoyed two quite good incomes. Take away the carer pension and a lot of families would not just fall into poverty, but would actually not be able to survive at all - especially considering a good part of the disability pension the sick partner receives often goes on costs associated with treatment or special needs like mobility devices, breathing devices, electricity to run special appliances, etc.
    If you take away the carer pension, many carers simply won't be able to care and will have to put disabled partners, parents or children into residential care at Government expense. We are already struggling to provide enough residential care, and the costs to the taxpayer are far higher than the costs of supporting a carer. The carer pension is means tested. It only goes to those who need it (in theory - perhaps there is a case for adjusting the means test. I won't claim expert knowledge on that subject.) But abolishing the carer pension would be just plain cruel and inhuman.
    Nan Norma
    4th Mar 2015
    10:11am
    Rainey, I am talking about people that shouldn't be on the DSP plus they have a partner on a Care's Allowence, (Not pension) For example: a couple I know, he was on DSP she on Carers allowence plus the carers pension. They split up. He is managing very well living alone. So why did he need her as his carer, on tax payers money.
    bookwyrm
    3rd Mar 2015
    10:11pm
    It‘s a way to get rid of welfare for the mentally ill disabled. For some reason, this goverment hates people with a severe psychiatric disability and wants to take them off the dsp. It‘s already start with those on the dsp under 35 being reviewed by govt doctors under new even stricter impairment tables. We‘ll be just like the USA with the streets full of mentally ill homeless people. And the jails too. The McClure Report is a load of bull, just another tool for the Abbott govt to dismantle the welfare state.
    particolor
    3rd Mar 2015
    10:36pm
    STREWTH !! We will have 7/8 th's of Lakemba Begging on the Streets ?? :-(
    Nan Norma
    3rd Mar 2015
    10:43pm
    boowyrm I do agree with you to some degree. Trouble is some young people go on the DSP and never get of it. Some of these young people had a drug problem to begin with. Of course there are older people doing the same thing. I know someone myself that has been claiming to have apsychiatric disability for years. Should have won an oscar years ago. They people make it difficult for the genuine people.
    Anonymous
    4th Mar 2015
    7:36am
    Actually, they hate anyone with a disability. And the rules are absurd. People with crippling bone disease and damaged backs are told they are not disabled, but people with mental illnesses are. There's no consideration of the kind of work a disabled person can do. An accountant, lawyer or clerk might be able to work with a bad back, whereas a bricklayer most likely can't. Retraining may be helpful for some, but to suggest someone aged 63.5 years should undergo retraining and rehabilitation to phase them back into the workforce gradually over 5 years is just stupid!
    Mental illnesses are genuine disabling. If the illness is genuine, the sufferer needs help and support. Maybe, though, we need to look at WHY there are so many mentally ill people. If we stopped attacking the victims and started looking at the cause, we might make some progress. Even in the case of fakers, it's probably more productive to look at their motivation rather than just whack them with a big stick - which is likely, in many cases, to make them genuinely ill rather than force them back to work.
    I agree many are taking unfair advantage of the system, which makes it hard for the genuine people and expensive for the taxpayer. Something needs to be done. But who is to judge who is genuine, and how?
    I think we should be focusing on how to create a healthier, happier, more inclusive society - and you certainly won't do that by denying benefits to the victims of society's greatest failures.

    4th Mar 2015
    11:23am
    Wandering around the net and came across this article.
    Most eye opening as to how much people actually pay in tax.

    http://www.news.com.au/national/welcome-to-the-welfare-nation-half-of-australias-families-pay-no-net-tax/story-fncynjr2-1226911042149
    Abby
    5th Mar 2015
    7:35am
    An interesting article indeed
    "As many as 85 per cent of single-parent families contribute no tax, once welfare benefits are deducted. Of single person households — mostly pensioners — 55 per cent pay no tax. About half of couples with no children pay no tax. For couples with children — with adults more likely to be working — one in four families pay no tax."
    Finni
    4th Mar 2015
    1:55pm
    i am 61 yo old with a bad ankle i wear a brace to keep the ankle in place so it does not slip out of the socket, try finding a job with that (i hope it never happens to anyone else)

    Would be better trying to get the people stuck on drugs off welfare, but that would be too dard to do