Don’t miss friends Facebook posts

The way in which Facebook now shows your posts from your friends, family and pages you like has changed significantly over the past three years. Unlike in the past where your timeline was a chronological list of posts from every person and brand you follow, only a fraction of these posts are being shown on your timeline.

Facebook implemented a new feature in 2012 which allows you to assign notification status to any of your friends without them being notified. What this means is that every time your selected friend posts a new status on Facebook, you are alerted to the post through the notification globe symbol next to the search bar on your Facebook feed.

Setting up a notification is easy.

Log in to your Facebook account. From your timeline wall, type the name of your friend into the search bar at the very top, and click on their name when it appears.

Now that you are on their wall, you will see various options. In the top-right, you will see ‘Friends’, ‘Following’ and ‘Message. Click on the down arrow next to ‘Friends’ and from the drop-down menu, click on ‘Close Friends’.

You will notice that above the ‘Close Friends’ button that ‘Get Notifications’ has also been selected. If for some reason your settings are different to the norm and this doesn’t occur, also click ‘Get Notifications’.

You are now set up to receive notifications when this person posts next. 

Written by Drew

Starting out as a week of work experience in 2005 while studying his Bachelor of Business at Swinburne University, Drew has never left his post and has been with the company ever since, working on the websites digital needs. Drew has a passion for all things technology which is only rivalled for his love of all things sport (watching, not playing).
Contact:
LinkedIn
Email



SPONSORED LINKS

LOADING MORE ARTICLE...