Gmail users MUST opt out

Last Friday Google launched its latest feature which allows any Gmail user with a Google+ account to send emails to any person (without actually knowing their email address) they have circled (friended) on Google+, who also has a Gmail account.

When a Gmail user starts to type in the name of the contact they are wanting to email, they will receive suggestions based on previous email contacts and also Google+ connections, as long as the person remains opted in to receiving emails via this method.

Google+ has included four different privacy options for this service and following in the footsteps of Facebook, set the default to be ‘Anyone on Google+’; the most invasive privacy setting of the lot. 

How to opt out

Login to your Gmail account.

Click on the cog symbol located on the top right-hand-side of your screen and click ‘Settings’ from the drop down menu.

Click on the ‘General’ tab if it isn’t already selected and scroll down until you find ‘Email via Google+’.

You will notice this is currently set to ‘Anyone on Google+’. My recommendation is to switch this to ‘No One’. Select this option from the drop down menu and then scroll to the bottom of the page and click ‘Save Changes’.

Now that you have opted out, don’t forget to share this information with your friends.

Written by Drew

Starting out as a week of work experience in 2005 while studying his Bachelor of Business at Swinburne University, Drew has never left his post and has been with the company ever since, working on the websites digital needs. Drew has a passion for all things technology which is only rivalled for his love of all things sport (watching, not playing).
Contact:
LinkedIn
Email



SPONSORED LINKS

LOADING MORE ARTICLE...