26th Jun 2013
FONT SIZE: A+ A-
Facebook after death
Facebook after death

With aproximately 140,000 registered deaths in Australia last year and more than half the Australian population (nearly 12 million) signed up to social networking website Facebook, it is safe to say 60,000 of those who died had a Facebook page. But what happens to the deceased person’s profile?

Facebook has a very specific death policy in place whereby it will either memorialise a person’s profile or permanently delete the profile upon request. Memorialising a profile allows friends of that person to view and post on the person’s profile, with the profile no longer indexed in search and the account locked from posting status updates. Permanently deleting the profile will remove any trace of the account and requires a copy of the person’s birth or death certificates or proof of authority to be submitted to Facebook.

Do you want your Facebook profile to be permanently deleted or memorialised when you die?
Permanently deleted
Memorialised
 

Read more about cyber immortality
Find out how to report a deceased person’s profile to be permanently deleted
Find out how to report a deceased person’s profile to be memorialised





    COMMENTS

    To make a comment, please register or login
    Penqueen1949
    30th Jun 2013
    7:03pm
    I expect that I'll delete it myself beforehand......before I get too old and doddery. :-)


    Join YOURLifeChoices, it’s free

    • Receive our daily enewsletter
    • Enter competitions
    • Comment on articles