Facebook photo privacy concerns

The latest update to social networking website Facebook has internet security experts extremely concerned about the privacy of Facebook users. Drew investigates the feature and the potential issues involved.

Soon, every Facebook user will be asked whether they want to ‘get started’ using a new photo sync feature on Facebook. This feature enables your synced smartphone device to automatically upload the latest 20 images from your phone to a private storage centre on your Facebook account (they are not made public until you choose to make them public).

While the syncing of photos may seem convenient, each of those photos instantly becomes the property of Facebook. Furthermore, the data which relates to the photos such as where the photos were taken, places nearby, the date, time and even who is in the photos (Facebook can match faces to profiles), is all recorded and sent to Facebook.

Facebook has confirmed that it will not use any of the data recorded on unpublished photos, but will utilise the photo data of those which are published.

In this expanding internet age, data is the key to growth and it seems that Facebook is aware that capturing as much data as possible about its users will lead to advertising dollars in the future. 

Written by Drew

Starting out as a week of work experience in 2005 while studying his Bachelor of Business at Swinburne University, Drew has never left his post and has been with the company ever since, working on the websites digital needs. Drew has a passion for all things technology which is only rivalled for his love of all things sport (watching, not playing).
Contact:
LinkedIn
Email



SPONSORED LINKS

LOADING MORE ARTICLE...