Facebook privacy update

It’s always a good idea to have a look over your settings online to make sure you’re not sharing anything you don’t want to be, and Facebook in particular is notorious for causing such issues.

Switching your updates to private

This will make sure that only your friends, or friends of your friends, will be able to see what you post on Facebook. To do this you must change your global audience from ‘Public’ to ‘Friends’, luckily for you it’s easy to do with this tutorial.

Start by logging into Facebook. From your wall, click on the padlock symbol in the top right-hand-corner of the screen and click on ‘Who can see my stuff?’ from the drop-down menu and select ‘Friends’. Alternatively, if you are already logged into Facebook, click here

Should you wish to look further into your privacy settings, click on the triangle to the right of the padlock, then click on ‘Settings’ on the dropdown menu which appears. On the page to which you are taken, there is a menu on the left-hand-side which lists many options which you can modify. Third from the top is ‘Privacy’, click this and from here you can change several settings. To make your updates private, click the ‘Edit’ button on the right-hand-side of the ‘Who can see my stuff?’ section. You are now editing the ‘Who can see my future posts’ module. In the middle you will see a drop-down box. It may have ‘Public’ next to it (what is displayed depends on your current settings). Click on the drop-down box and select ‘Friends’. Finish by clicking on ‘Close’ located in the top-right-hand-corner.

You have now successfully updated your privacy settings so that your future posts won’t show up in your profile page to anyone who isn’t your friend. If you would like to also change your settings so that your past posts will not be public, you can do this in the Privacy menu with the ‘Limit The Audience for Old Posts on Your Timeline’ option. This allows you to apply privacy changes retroactively, meaning that any old posts you made which appeared to the entire public can be limited to just your friends.
 

The ‘Who can contact me?’ and ‘Who can look me up?’ options can also be changed to disallow strangers from contacting or finding you. But you should keep in mind that Facebook is a social network and if you change these options, you might miss out on reconnecting with an old friend who has looked you up online.

Written by ryanbo

LOADING MORE ARTICLE...