New Facebook shared photo albums

Facebook’s newest feature will allow users to contribute to a shared photo album.

New Facebook shared photo albums

Announced last week, Facebook has implemented a new feature called a ‘Shared Album’ which is slowly being introduced across the social network. A small group of English-language users had the feature activated last Monday and once Facebook are happy with how the product is working on their network, the feature will be integrated for all English users, before expanding internationally.

Unlike a normal photo album which allows for a maximum of 1000 photos from a single user, a shared album will allow up to 50 contributors to upload a maximum of 200 photos each. The user who creates the album can decide whether invited contributors can invite others to contribute to the album, or whether the creator of the album is the one in charge of access to the album. Privacy settings can be set to ‘Public’ (anyone can view), friends of contributor or contributors only.

Up until now, Facebook users have been forced to upload photos to their own individual albums and to tag friends in photos taken together on overseas holidays, at parties or even of a couples wedding. But with the new shared album feature, these images can all be shared by different contributors in the one place.

The first implementation of the shared album feature will not be mobile-friendly, therefore, if you want to create a shared album, this has to be done on a computer. Contributors will still be able to upload their photos via a mobile device.

Would you use a shared Facebook album?





    COMMENTS

    To make a comment, please register or login


    Join YOURLifeChoices, it’s free

    • Receive our daily enewsletter
    • Enter competitions
    • Comment on articles