Deactivating your Facebook account

YOURLifeChoices subscriber Maureen is sick and tired of being bombarded with messages and friends requests from people she doesn’t know and wishes to cancel her Facebook account. Drew explains how to deactivate a Facebook account in a matter of minutes.

Q. Hi Drew,

I was persuaded (against my better judgment) by some younger members of my family to join Facebook. I relented, mainly to see photographs of a family wedding I could not attend. Now I am being inundated by messages from Facebook advising of ‘activities’ by my ‘friends’ – most of whom I do not know. Can you PLEASE tell me how I can cancel my membership or whatever it is called, as I cannot find anything on the site to enable me to do this.

I will be very grateful for your assistance.

A.
To remove your account completely you need to try and get in contact with Facebook by email, which is very difficult. The best thing for you to do is to deactivate your account (which removes you, but means if you ever want to come back, your account and photos will still be there for you to reactivate). Follow these steps to deactivate your account.

  1. Click the account menu  at the top right of any Facebook page
  2. Choose Account Settings
  3. Select Security from the left-hand menu
  4. Click on “Deactivate your account” 

Written by Drew

Starting out as a week of work experience in 2005 while studying his Bachelor of Business at Swinburne University, Drew has never left his post and has been with the company ever since, working on the websites digital needs. Drew has a passion for all things technology which is only rivalled for his love of all things sport (watching, not playing).
Contact:
LinkedIn
Email



SPONSORED LINKS

LOADING MORE ARTICLE...