23rd Oct 2013
Travelling without a visa
Travelling without a visa

Visas can add both stress and extra costs to an overseas trip. Find out to which countries Australians can travel without the hassle of getting a visa.

All of this information assumes that you are travelling with a valid Australian passport. If a country is not listed here then either you must purchase a visa upon arriving in the country’s airport or seaport (which is why it is important to carry some cash in your carry-on luggage) or you need to organise a visa before you leave Australia. Organising a visa ahead of time can be a lengthy process, so be sure to start early, especially if you are visiting a country known for its stringent visa application process.

No visa, ever
Australians can travel to and remain in the following country indefinitely without a visa:

  • New Zealand

Visa-free entry for six months
Australians can travel to the following countries without a visa for six months. After six months, alternative arrangements must be made.

  • Barbados
  • Dominica
  • Canada
  • United Kingdom


Visa-free entry for 183 days
It might seem like an arbitrary number but, nevertheless, Australians can travel to the following country without a visa for 183 days:

  • Peru

Visa-free entry for 180 days
If the extra three days doesn’t phase you, you may also wish to travel to the following countries without a visa for just 180 days:

  • Mexico
  • Panama

Visa-free entry for four months
Australians can stay in the following country for four months without a visa:

  • Fiji

Visa-free entry for three months
Australians can visit the following countries without a visa for three months (long enough to avoid winter):

  • Bahamas
  • El Salvador
  • Guyana
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Ireland
  • Malaysia
  • Morocco
  • Namibia
  • Uruguay

Visa-free entry for 90 days of any 180-day period
Most countries will only let you visit for the allocated time once per year. The following countries allow you to enter without a visa and stay for 90 days every six-months:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

Visa-free entry for 90 days
Australians can visit the following countries for 90 days without a visa:

  • Albania
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Guatemala
  • Japan
  • Malawi
  • Serbia
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Venezuela

Visa-free entry for one month
The following countries allow Australians to visit and stay for one month without a visa. Be careful to check whether this means one calendar month, or a certain number of days, as getting caught without a valid visa can put you in a sticky situation:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Belize
  • Lebanon

Visa-free entry for 30 days
Australians can visit the following countries without a visa for exactly 30 days:

  • Brunei
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • United Arab Emirates

Visa-free entry for 21 days
Finally, Australians can only visit the following country for 21 days before a visa is required:

  • Phillipines


    To make a comment, please register or login

    Join YOURLifeChoices, it’s free

    • Receive our daily enewsletter
    • Enter competitions
    • Comment on articles