How to 'un-send' an email

So you’ve accidentally sent an email, so what can do you do now? Unfortunately, not much. However, this video tutorial can show you how to avoid making this mistake in the future. 

Find out how to un-send an email and avoid a digital disaster with this quick and easy video tutorial. 

Video help
To enlarge the video to fullscreen, click the square icon at the bottom right hand corner. 
Volume can be adjusted by clicking the vertical bars to the right-hand side of the time indicator. 
If you require subtitles, they can be activated by clicking the speech bubble icon at the top right corner of the video. 

Video not working for you? Read the article below.

How to un-send an email

Open up your Gmail inbox and click on the cog icon at the top right and then click ‘Settings’.

Now look under the ‘General’ tab and you will find an option to ‘Enable Undo Send’.

This activates a 5, 10, 20 or 30 second period between when you hit send and when your email is actually sent, allowing you to make a mad dash for the ‘Undo’ button, should you send something accidentally. Scroll down to the bottom of your ‘Settings’ page and click ‘Save Changes’ to activate this feature. 

The ‘Undo’ button will appear at the top of Gmail on a yellow banner, after you send an email.

However, it might be a good idea to test this out now, rather than waiting for an emergency.

Written by ryanbo



SPONSORED LINKS

LOADING MORE ARTICLE...