Did you know that Google may have been recording you without your knowledge or permission?
If you own an iPhone or an Android, saying the simple word ‘ok’ can trigger your phone to record up to 20 seconds of your conversations, saving it in secret.
Once Google finishes recording, these files will be sent to your ‘iCloud’, where all of your files are stored and can be accessed from anywhere in the world.
Here’s how to find some of your secret data, that was recorded and saved without your knowledge:
First, you’ll need to be signed into your Gmail or Google account.
Once you’ve done that, type “history.google.com/history” into your web browser.
You’ll be taken to a hub which contains your entire digital footprint, so be careful, it could make for some grim reading.
This includes Maps searches and YouTube videos you’ve watched.
Under the tab Voice and Audio Activity, you’ll find a list of recordings in chronological order.
Plug in and listen to what’s been saved; from gossip with your friends to small talk at the supermarket.
However, here’s how this secret spy service can be halted in the future:
Go back to “Activity controls” and under “Web & App activity” you should see a blue toggle.
You can switch this off, but be warned; you have merely “paused” the recordings — so keep checking back on a regular basis to ensure that the terms and conditions don’t change in the future and you aren’t auto-enrolled when a new update is installed.
How this affects Apple users:
You’re not much better off if you use an Apple device either.
Apple also stores voice recordings (thanks to the voice assistant Siri) for up to 18 months. However, you won’t be able to access them.
So, next time you think you’re all alone, you better make sure your phone isn’t spying on you. You never know what information could slip out.
Have you ever been recorded?
Join YOURLifeChoices, it’s free
- Receive our daily enewsletter
- Enter competitions
- Comment on articles